Within Teamwork, client users are one of three user license types you can choose from when adding people to your site.



The purpose of client users is to enable you to bring clients into your projects where necessary, without incurring extra costs onto your subscription. Client users are similar to standard users but with a reduced set of permissions.

Note: Client users are available on per-user Pro subscription plans and above.

Each user will have a user type tag with a unique color. Client users will be indicated in aqua, while standard users are green and collaborators are purple.

Image Placeholder


Understanding client user permissions

Client users can be granted the same permission options at project-level as standard users. This means they can perform similar actions such as adding project items (tasks, milestones, etc.), completing tasks, or replying to messages. They can also become the project owner on the projects where they are a member.

Beyond project permissions, client users have reduced permissions within Teamwork. Client users are also restricted to being a member of a maximum of 5 projects at a time.

Client users cannot be granted the following permissions:

  • Site administrator
  • Manage people and companies
  • Add projects
  • View/manage project templates
  • View/manage Portfolio
  • View/manage custom fields
  • Manage task templates
  • Automatic access to future projects
  • Project administrator on any project

Client users also cannot:

  • Be part of the owner company
  • Be a member of more than 5 projects
  • Be a member of projects outside of their own company
  • Access the site-level People area
  • Share the same email domain as the site owner in the owner company

Adding a client user


To add a new user as a client, go to the People area of your site and select the People subsection.

Image Placeholder


In the top right of the People area, click the Add button and select Add User from the dropdown.

Image Placeholder

You can then select Client user from the user type dropdown.

Image Placeholder

Viewing client users


In the People area of your site or in an individual project, you can quickly filter to view only client users.

You will see a count for each user type at the top of the list. Clicking the client count will update the list to show only the client users.

Image Placeholder


Downgrading an existing user to a client user

You can also change an existing standard user to a client user, either via the site-level People area or in an individual project's People section.

Click the three dots to the right of the user's details and select Edit profile from the dropdown.

Image Placeholder

Go to the Essentials tab in the user's details modal and update the Type field from standard user to client user before clicking Update.

Image Placeholder


You can also downgrade a user while viewing their profile. Click the options button (three dots) in the top right and select Downgrade to a Client from the dropdown menu.

Image Placeholder

Managing a client user's project permissions

To update a client user's project-level permissions, go to the People section of your site.



Click the three dots to the right of the user's details and select Edit profile from the dropdown.

Image Placeholder

Select the Permissions tab and click Edit beside the Projects access count.

Image Placeholder


From the list of available projects, select Edit to the right the relevant project.

Image Placeholder


You can then adjust the permissions for the client user on the selected project.

Any permissions unavailable to client users will be crossed out. If you have a user that needs any of those permissions, you will need to upgrade them to a standard user.

Image Placeholder


At project level, you can update the user's permissions for that individual project. In the project's People area, click the three dots to the right of the user's details and select Edit project permissions from the dropdown.

Image Placeholder


Note: Teamwork reserves the right to suspend services should there be any improper use of any features as outlined by our Terms of Service.


For more information, see: Understanding User Permissions and Access