What is a standard user?
Standard users are
the primary user type
in Teamwork.com for those who need access to
the full range of available permissions.
Each standard user occupies a paid seat in
your Teamwork.com subscription, with the cost
of each user varying depending on the
subscription plan you have. Most often,
these licenses would
be reserved for your company's employees
who are going to be managing and working
on your projects in depth.
What is a client user?
The purpose of client users is to
enable you to bring clients into your
projects where
necessary, without incurring extra
costs onto your subscription. Client
users can avail of
the same range of project level
permissions as standard users, but are
restricted in some other aspects such
as
administrator privileges. They are
also limited to joining a maximum of
five active projects.
✔ Client users are available
on Basics, Accelerate, Optimize & Enterprise subscriptions 1
What is a collaborator?
Collaborator licenses are designed
for bringing in third parties to your
projects in a limited capacity. They
can perform basic actions such as
completing tasks assigned to them,
adding comments & messages, or
view files. Like client users,
collaborators are completely free on
your subscription but their
permissions are less expansive.
Collaborators cannot add new tasks, task
lists, milestones, notebooks, links, log time,
set statuses, or add tags to project items.
Note: Each standard user
added will be counted as a paid seat in your
recurring subscription cost. Client users and
collaborators added to your site do not incur
a cost.
How do I choose a user type when inviting people?
When inviting new users to your site, you can select the user type
via the dropdown menu.

Note: Client users can
only be added to external companies on your
site.
How do I change an existing user's type?
You can also update the user
type of existing people on your site via
the site-level People area.

Click the three dots to the right of the
relevant user and select the Edit option from the
dropdown menu.

In the user details modal, go to
the Essentials tab. You can then update
the license type via the Type dropdown.

Note: The client user
option can only be applied to users in
external companies.
When a user is set as a collaborator a
message will appear within their
permissions screen notifying you that they
will have reduced
permissions.

In various sections of your site
such as the People area, users of each
license type will be indicated by a unique
color.

1. Also
available on legacy
subscriptions: Pro, Premium,
Enterprise, Deliver, Grow and Scale.
Frequently asked questions
Do client users and collaborators cost anything?
No. Only standard users count as paid seats.
How many projects can a client user join?
Up to five active projects.
Can client users be added to the owner company?
No. Client users can only be added to external companies on your site.
Can collaborators log time?
No. Collaborators can't log time, add tasks, or add tags.