Within Teamwork, you can set privacy on files added to your project so only certain users can access them.

You can set privacy on files when first uploading them to your project or when editing an existing file.


New files

In the file upload modal, click the privacy field to change the privacy settings. By default, file privacy will be set to Everybody on the project.

Image Placeholder


In the privacy modal, you can switch between people and teams. Privacy can be set to individual project members, entire companies, or teams.

Image Placeholder


You can use the search field at the top to locate specific people. Click the filters button on the right for additional options on who should be selectable in the People and Teams tabs.





Existing files

To change the privacy of an existing file, click the options dropdown to the right of the file in the Files area. Select Edit File Details from the dropdown menu to open the file details modal.

Image Placeholder


Select the Privacy field in the file details modal to update the privacy settings.

Image Placeholder




Inherited file privacy
 
When you add an existing project file to a private project item (task, message, comment), the file's original privacy is respected and retained.

  • For example, if you add an existing file that's public to everyone on the project, to a task that is private to only two project members, the file will remain public to all project members.
If you upload a brand new file to a private project item, the file will inherit the privacy of the project item.

  • This is because the file is being newly added to the project and therefore doesn't have any existing privacy to respect.

NoteSite administrators in the owner company will always be selected (gray), as their permissions override privacy by default and they will always be able to see the item.

For more information, see: Uploading Files in the Files Area