Within Teamwork, you can bulk manage teams and their individual members.

Note: These bulk actions are available on per-user Premium/Grow subscriptions and above.

You can use different subsets of the bulk actions depending on whether you are a site administrator, project administrator on a project, or have been granted the profile permission to manage people and companies.


Bulk deleting teams

In the People area of your site, go to the Teams subsection.

Image Placeholder

Using the checkboxes to the left of each team, select the ones to delete. Once at least one team is selected, the bulk actions toolbar will appear at the top of the list. You can also expand the subteams count to reveal and select subteams.

Click the Delete button to remove the selected teams.

Image Placeholder


You will need to click OK in the confirmation modal to complete the deletion. 

Note: If a team you have selected contains subteams, those teams will also be removed.

Image Placeholder



Bulk send a message to teams on a project

When viewing the Teams subsection of the People area on an individual project, you can also bulk send a message to specific teams.

Using the checkboxes to the left, select the relevant teams and click the Send message option from the bulk actions toolbar.

Image Placeholder


A pop-up modal will open where you can set a subject and message content. The selected teams will automatically be set to be notified of the message.

Image Placeholder


Bulk adding people to a team

When viewing a list of users in various areas of your site, the bulk actions toolbar allows you to quickly add the selected people to a team.

Go to the People area of your site and select the People subsection. 

Image Placeholder

Using the checkboxes to the left of each user, select the relevant people to be updated. Click the Add to team option in the bulk actions toolbar at the top of the list.

Image Placeholder


In the Select Teams modal, you can search for and select existing teams on your site. Using the checkboxes to the left, select which teams the user(s) should be added to.

You also have the option to create a new team at the bottom of the modal. 

Image Placeholder


The option to bulk add people to teams is also available when viewing the People tab in a company or project.


Bulk removing people from a team

When viewing the Members tab of a team, subteam, or project team, you can use the bulk actions to remove multiple people from the team.

Use the checkboxes on the left to select the relevant users, then click the Remove from team button in the bulk actions toolbar.

Image Placeholder


You will need to click OK in the confirmation modal to complete the removal of the users from the team.

Image Placeholder




Bulk moving users to a different company


When viewing a team that has been associated with a company, you will see an additional bulk action to Move company. This allows you to change the company associated with individual users.

Image Placeholder


In the Change Company modal, you can choose a different company for the selected user(s). Click Move users to save your changes.

Image Placeholder


Note: Once you change the selected users' company, they will automatically be removed from any teams associated with their previous company.



Bulk setting user profile permissions


Using the Set permissions option, you can bulk update the profile permissions for multiple users. This is available when viewing a list of people in a site-level area (not within a project).

Image Placeholder

In the Bulk Edit modal, use the dropdown to select a permission to update and click Add.

Image Placeholder


Once one or multiple permissions have been added to the list, you can use the toggles to turn each permission on or off depending on whether you want to grant or revoke the permission. Click Modify Permissions to apply your changes to the selected users.

Image Placeholder


You will need to click OK in the confirmation modal to apply the changes.

Image Placeholder



Restrictions on using the bulk actions toolbar

  • Only site administrators or people with permission to manage people and companies can bulk edit.
    • Project administrators can bulk add existing project members to an existing project team, bulk send a message to project teams, and bulk remove members from the project.
  • The bulk actions toolbar is not available when a team only contains one member.
  • You cannot bulk set your own permissions.
  • A permission will only be applied to selected users if it is within the scope of their user type access rights (standard, client, collaborator).

For more information, see: Bulk Edit Permissions for Managing People