Within Teamwork Projects, collaborators are one of two user license types you can choose from.

When you add a new user as a collaborator or downgrade an existing standard user, they will not count towards the cost of your subscription but they will have reduced permissions compared to standard users.

When viewing the people section of your site (or within a project), collaborators will be indicated in pink, while standard users are green.



Understanding collaborator permissions

Collaborators have limited permissions within Teamwork Projects. They can perform basic actions such as completing tasks and milestones assigned to them, but cannot edit the main properties of a task.

Collaborators can:

  • Complete tasks assigned to them
  • Complete milestones assigned to them
  • Set progress on tasks assigned to them
    • Note: Setting a task's progress to 100% will automatically complete the task.
  • Follow tasks
  • Add reminders to tasks
  • View files
  • Edit files they upload
  • Add new messages
  • Reply to existing messages
  • Add comments to project items
  • Set privacy on project items

Collaborators cannot:

  • Edit task properties:
    • This includes changing dates, attaching files, changing assignee, changing tags, or changing board column.
  • Create new tasks, task lists, milestones, notebooks, links, or risks
  • Update milestones, task lists, tasks, notebooks, links
  • Complete tasks or milestones not assigned to them
  • Set progress on tasks not assigned to them
  • Log time
  • Add new projects
  • Access Billing
  • View the calendar
  • Access and set statuses
  • Become a site or project administrator
  • Manage task templates
  • Manage people and companies
  • View or manage Portfolio
  • Be an observer on projects
  • Run reports

To update a collaborator's permissions, go to the People section of your site. To the far right of the user you wish to change you can choose the pencil icon.

Select the Permissions tab, and click Edit beside the Projects access.

Image Placeholder


From the list of available projects, select Edit to the right the relevant project.

Image Placeholder


You can then adjust the permissions for the collaborator on the selected project.

With restricted permissions, options such as updating tasks, task lists, milestones, and logging time will be crossed out. If you have a user that needs any of those permissions, you will need to make them a standard user.

Image Placeholder


Note: Collaborators can only be granted permissions at project level (above). At site level, they can only view the Home and Projects tabs.

You can also set default permissions for collaborators in your site's general settings.

Adding a collaborator


To add a new user as a collaborator, you can select it from the user type dropdown.

Image Placeholder


Downgrading an existing user to a collaborator


You can also change an existing user to a collaborator by navigating to the people section of your site.

In a project's People tab or the site-level People area, hover the user you want to update and click the edit pencil to the right.

Image Placeholder

Go to the Essentials tab in the user's details modal and update the Type from standard user to collaborator before clicking Update.

Image Placeholder


Working with collaborators in Teamwork Desk


Within Teamwork Desk, you can add existing collaborators from your Projects site to be agents on your Desk account.

Note: Collaborators from your Projects site are added to Desk as agents. You will be able to select whether to add them as full-time or part-time agents, depending on your Desk subscription plan.

Working with collaborators in Teamwork Chat


Collaborators can interact with your Teamwork Chat account. When they accept the invitation to your Teamwork Projects site, they will then be able to access Chat, initiate and interact with conversations.

Note: Collaborators are completely free. They do not count towards your billing subscription.

For more information, see: Understanding user permissions and access