Within Teamwork.com, you can set privacy on
files added to your project so only
certain users can access them.
Note: Only a site
administrator or project administrator can
update file privacy.
How do I set privacy on files in Teamwork.com?
You can set privacy on files when
first uploading them to your project or when
editing an existing file.
- Site administrators in the owner
company will always be included in
privacy settings (gray checkbox) as
their permissions override privacy by
default and they will always be able
to see the item.
How do I set privacy when uploading a new file?
Go to the Files area of your project. In the file upload modal, click the
privacy field to change the privacy
settings. By default, file privacy
will be set to Everybody on the
project.

In the privacy modal, you can switch
between people and teams. Privacy can be
set to individual project members, entire
companies, or teams.

You can use the search field at the
top to locate specific people. Click
the filters button on the right for
additional options on who should be
selectable in the People and Teams
tabs.

How do I change the privacy of an existing file?
To change the privacy of an existing
file, click the options dropdown to the
right of the file in the project's Files area. Select Edit File
Details from the dropdown menu to
open the file details modal.


Click
the Privacy field in
the file details modal to update the privacy
settings.

What happens to file privacy when I attach a file to a private item?
When you add an existing project file
to a private project item (task,
message, comment), the file's original
privacy is respected and
retained.
- For example, if you add an existing file
that's public to everyone on the project,
to a task that is private to only two
project members, the file will remain
public to all project members.
If you upload a brand new file to a private
project item, the file will inherit the
privacy of the project item.
- This is because the file is being newly
added to the project and therefore doesn't
have any existing privacy to
respect.
Frequently asked questions
Who can update file privacy?
Only site administrators or project administrators.
What is the default privacy for new files?
Everybody on the project.
Does attaching an existing file to a private task change its privacy?
No. The file keeps its original privacy.
What about a new file uploaded to a private item?
It inherits the privacy of that project item.
For more information, see: Uploading Files in the
Files Area