Within Teamwork, you can create and schedule time allocations for users to manage their workload and get an overview of your resources. 

Note: The Schedule feature is available on per-user Grow/Premium subscriptions and above, while the People subsection is available on Scale subscriptions. 

Image Placeholder

Creating allocations


Click the Add Allocation button in the top right to create a new allocation for a user.



You can also add an allocation by double clicking an empty field within the table. This option will auto assign the user and project depending on which empty field is selected. 

Alternatively, click and drag within the fields where you would like to add the allocation. 

Image Placeholder

Each allocation is required to be associated with a project and user on your site. You can customize the allocation by setting a color and title, as well as start & end dates and duration.

Image Placeholder


By default, each new allocation will be titled New Allocation. You can overwrite this with a custom title. Click Save to add the allocation to your schedule.


Image Placeholder


If you attempt to create an allocation greater than the remaining hours available for the user on that day, you will see a warning message stating how many available hours the user actually has. You can still save the new allocation but this will over allocate the user.

Image Placeholder


If you create an allocation for a day where a user is unavailable, you will see a warning that the user is unavailable on the selected day. You can still save the new allocation but this will over allocate the user.

Image Placeholder




Managing allocations


In order to manage an individual allocation entry in the Projects view, you will need to click the project's name to expand and view the associated users along with their allocations associated with the project. 

  • The top-level row associated with each individual project will show the combined allocations and unavailable time across all members of the project for each day.
Each individual allocation will show the allocation name and total number of hours. If the user has logged time against the associated project (or task in the project), you will also see a percentage progress bar in the allocation. As more time is logged, this percentage will increase.

Image Placeholder


In the People view, expanding an individual user row will show their capacity details. In addition to their unavailable time being listed, the user's current allocations will be grouped by their associated project.

  • The top-level row associated with each individual user will show the combined allocations and unavailable time across all the user's projects for each day.
Note: If a user does not have any allocations on a particular project for the period being viewed, the project will not be listed under their name. 


Image Placeholder


In both views, all time logged by a user on the associated project will display against all of their allocations for that project and will represent a percentage completion.

Image Placeholder


Hover an individual allocation to view the full title, total hours, and date distribution. You will also see options to edit or delete the allocation in the top right.

Image Placeholder


In addition to using the edit pencil to update allocation dates or duration, you can do so via drag and drop.

To adjust the duration of an allocation, drag the left or right side of the allocation to increase or decrease it. Click and drag an entire allocation to reposition it to fall on alternative days.


Image Placeholder


Drag and drop can also be used to reassign an allocation to another user.

Image Placeholder


It is possible to split an existing allocation by clicking on the date break lines within the table. 

Image Placeholder





Deleting allocations


To remove an individual allocation or unavailable time entry from a user's schedule, click the user's name to view their detailed schedule.

Hover over the relevant allocation or unavailable time and click the trash can icon.

Image Placeholder


You will then be asked to confirm the deletion of the unavailable time or allocation.

Image Placeholder


For more information, see: Setting and Managing Unavailable Time