Within Teamwork, you can share a saved filter from different areas of your site with members of your team so that they can see the same information based on your applied filter.
When you share a filter, all selected users will receive an email with a link to the filter which when clicked will open their Teamwork site on the page with the filter applied.
Site-level filtering areas
The associated filter options will vary depending on the area and item type you are filtering. Supported site-level areas for filtering include:
- My Projects
- Unread Comments
- Unread Messages
- List - via copied link only.
- Portfolio (price plan dependent)
- Tasks, Completed Tasks, Milestones, Messages, Comments, Files, Time, Notebooks, Risks, Links.
If you share a filter with a user who does not have access to the relevant area, they will not be able to view it.
Note: After sharing a saved filter, any changes you make to your saved filter will be reflected for anyone viewing the one you have shared. One way to stop the filter from being updated on their side is for them to save their own version of it.
Sharing a saved filter
Click the filters button in the top right of the area you are in to reveal the filters pane.
In the filters pane, go to the Saved Filters tab. Hover over the filter you wish to share and click the options button (three dots) to the right. Choose Share from the dropdown menu.
When an active filter (saved or unsaved) is actively applied to an area, you can also share the filter via the options menu in the top right of that area.
When a filter is applied, you can also share it from the Filter tab of the filters pane. You will see the active filter mentioned at the top. Hover over it and click the three dots to share the filter.
Once you select the share option, a modal will open where you can choose who to share the filter with via email. You can choose whether to share the filter name.
Click Share Filter to send the filter link via email to the selected recipients.
When you share a filter, all selected users will receive an email with a link to view the filter which will open their Teamwork site in the associated area with the filter applied.
The shared filter will be applied and will provide the user with the option to save the filter to their own saved filters.
Copying a link to a saved filter
In the Share a Filter modal, you have an additional option to copy a link to the filter which allows you to share the filter settings manually, for example in a comment on a task or via a chat message.
In the List subsection of the site-level Projects area, saved filters can only be shared via the copy link method. In the Saved Filters view of the Filters pane, click the options button to the right of the filter and click Copy to clipboard.
Editing saved filters
If you activate a saved filter and make changes to it, you will notice an asterisk appear next to the name of the filter.
If you then share this with changes before saving, it will be treated as an unsaved filter and any changes made to it after sharing will not be updated on the recipient's side.
Note: Sharing filters is available on paid Teamwork subscriptions.
For more information, see: Sharing an Unsaved Filter at Site Level