Within Teamwork Chat, you can set up one-to-one or group video calls to keep you and your team connected.
Note: One to one calls are available on all subscription plans. Group calls are available on the per-user Pro plan and above.
Creating a video call
To initiate a video call in a conversation or channel, select the video icon in the upper right corner. This will open a new browser tab with a call setup screen.
As the call creator, you will have the option to name the call before clicking Start to proceed. By default, the call will be labeled as "Video Call."
A video call card will be sent in the associated conversation or channel with an option for any current channel members to join.
This card provides call details in real time while the call is active , including the creator, call name, duration, and current participants.
You can also share a link to your video call at anytime by using the copy to clipboard link in the bottom left-hand corner of the call screen and sharing with other users.
Note: A link to a video call can be shared in any channel, giving those users the option to join.
Joining a video call
When a video call card appears in a conversation or channel, click the Join button to enter the video call.
This will open in a new browser window where you can adjust your microphone and camera preferences before joining.
Video call options
In the video call window, there will be several options in the footer toolbar at the bottom of the screen.
The main footer options allow you to control:
- Microphone - mute or unmute
your sound input.
- Video - enable or disable your
- Screen - share or unshare your
- Option vary from browser
to browser but can include
screen selection (when
using multiple screens),
application window, or
- Hang up - end/leave video
To the right of the footer, you can access the settings for your device, such as microphone and camera, via the settings cog button, or use the ! icon to send feedback to Teamwork.
There are also two display options you can toggle between for how participants display on your screen.
- Grid view - will show up to 8 of
the call's participants on the
screen at a time, with an option
to move between pages to see
- The current user will always
be displayed first on the
- The remaining users will be
ordered by who has spoken most
recently. If a user not
currently displayed on the
first page speaks, they will
be moved to the first screen
in place of whoever spoke
- Active speaker view - the active
speaker will fill the majority of
the screen, with other
participants visible in smaller
thumbnails in a sidebar.
- A maximum of 5 participants
will show in the sidebar,
ordered by the last time they
Note: Grid view is not supported on mobile screens, therefore active speaker view will always be the default display.
To the left of the footer, you will see how long the call has been running for as well as a link icon to copy a link to the call.
To share your screen with all users on the video call, click the screen icon at the bottom of your screen.
You will then be presented with screen sharing options. These will vary depending on the browser you are using.
Note: Only one participant can share their screen at any one time on a video call.
For more information, see: Sharing Your Screen on Video Calls