Within Teamwork, you can set privacy on any messages added to your project so only certain users can access them.

You can set privacy on messages when first adding them to your project or when editing an existing message.


New messages

When creating a new message, you can set privacy below the message content area. By default, privacy will be set to Everybody on the project.

Image Placeholder


In the privacy modal, you can switch between people and teams. Privacy can be set to individual project members, entire companies, or teams.




You can use the search field at the top to locate specific people. Click the filters button on the right for additional options on who should be selectable in the People and Teams tabs.




Note: Site administrators in the owner company will always be selected (gray), as their permissions override privacy by default and they will always be able to see the item.



Existing messages

To change the privacy of an existing message, open the message to view the full thread and click the three dots to the right of the message. From the dropdown menu, select the Edit option.

Image Placeholder


You will then be able to select who to include in the privacy at the bottom of the message area.


Note: Message replies will inherit the privacy of the original message and cannot be individually edited.

For more information, see: Adding a New Message