The Teamwork Document Editor allows you to download, open, edit and save changes to files stored in the Files area of your projects.

Within the Teamwork Document Editor, you can edit project files and save the changes directly to your projects automatically or manually.



Note: The ability to edit files requires you to have permission to add files enabled in your project permissions.

The editor works with a variety of file types such as Microsoft Word and Excel, LibreOffice, Adobe Photoshop and certain other image file types.

Some file types may be blocked for security purposes, including *.exe, *.jar, *.zip and *.rar files.


Editing files

Once you have enabled the integration in your profile settings and installed the application on your computer, any projects you have selected to link will be listed in the left sidebar. You can click through the project names to view the corresponding file categories and files.

Any supported files will have an Edit button to the right of the file name.

Image Placeholder


Clicking Edit will download the file to your computer and open it using the appropriate application based on your default program settings in Windows or OS X.


Image Placeholder


Depending on the upload preference you have set in your Document Editor settings, how you save your changes will vary.


Automatic upload

If you have your upload preference set to Automatically on save, you can click save as you normally would in the application where you are editing once you have made the relevant changes to the file.

Image Placeholder

The changes will be uploaded automatically to the project as a new version of the file.

Image Placeholder



Manual upload

If you have your upload preference set to Manually by pressing upload, you can save your file multiple times in the application where you are editing it without creating new versions of the file in Teamwork each time.

Image Placeholder

For manual uploads, we recommend working from the Recent Files section of the Document Editor.

Image Placeholder


Each time you save a file you are editing, a temporary copy will be added to the Recent Files section which stores the ten most recently saved file.

To upload new versions of files to Teamwork, you will first need to unlock them via the Recent Files section. Click the Unlock button to the right of the relevant file in the Recent Files list.

Image Placeholder


You can also unlock all ten recent files at once by scrolling to the bottom of the list and click Unlock all files.

Image Placeholder


Once a file is unlocked, you will see an Upload button to the right of the file name.

Image Placeholder

Clicking this will initiate an upload to the associated project on your Teamwork account, generating a new version of the file.

Image Placeholder


Note: The upload option in the Recent Files section is intended for single use so will disappear once you upload the file. To upload the file manually another time, you will need to edit the file again. 

 
You can also delete these temporary file copies from the Recent Files section when finished editing. Scroll to the bottom of the Recent Files list and click Delete all files.

Image Placeholder



File locking

As soon as you click the Edit button, the file will automatically be locked which means other people looking at the file in the project will see an icon to show that it's locked for editing.

A user can hover over the icon to see who locked the file and when it was locked.

Image Placeholder


Note: Project and site administrators will also have the option to force unlock files that have been locked by other users.



Opening the editor via Teamwork

Once you have the editor application installed on your computer, you will also see an edit option beside each supported file in the Files section of each project you have linked to the editor.

Image Placeholder


When you click the edit pencil, the browser will automatically try to open the Document Editor.

Image Placeholder


When you click Open, the Document Editor will launch and the file will be downloaded to your computer. It will automatically be opened via an appropriate application based on your default program settings in Windows or OS X.

You can then edit and save the file as you would via the editor itself.


Note: Collaborators can only edit files that they have uploaded themselves.


For more information, see: Installing the Document Editor